2.17.14-2.18.14: Case of the Mondays and Dad’s Birthday

Monday:

On Mondays, my mom is usually off of work. We hit the gym, do some housework, errands, then usually have lunch at one of my favorite places. This Monday was no different. 

I hit the gym at 8am and could only do 15 minutes/1.5 miles again, which yet again, frustrated me. I shook off my anger and decided right then to stop fooling around and just start my 5K to 10K app over the next day, since I really didn’t get a workout in.

Around noon, we headed to Jake’s Bagels in downtown Aurora and I got my favorite: a cinnamon raisin bagel with cream cheese. I eat *pretty* clean for the most part (I’d say 70/30, but I stay within my calories at more of a 90/10 ratio) but I look forward to Jake’s with my mom on Mondays. After lunch, mom surprised me by picking me up 2 boxes of Quest Bars! They are amazing, but $25 for a box of 12 is hefty. She apparently has appreciated all the cooking I do, but I just like to do my share to help my fambam out. Really.

Image

I made healthier Chicken Enchiladas for dinner and it was a hit. I hit the sack around 8pm because Tuesday was going to be busy.

 

Tuesday:

My old man and best friend turned 55 today! He had to spend the day at work, but that’s okay, because we still had a great day. I went over to babysit two of my favorite McNuggets at 8am today. They are so much fun, but the kiddos have a case of cabin fever. I cannot wait to take them outside to run around or go to the park instead of sitting inside watching Scooby Doo and making loom bracelets. (Even though that is pretty fun!) I was so hungry today even though I didn’t go to the gym until later. When I woke up (around 7am) I ate a slice of banana bread, at 9:30am, I had an apple, 10:45am, a bowl of cheerios with milk, then 15 minutes later, I had my Quest bar. I don’t know how I survived today.

Image

I got done babysitting a little early, so I headed out to Nothing Bundt Cakes to grab dad’s birthday cake: a double chocolate chip cake. If you haven’t had Nothing Bundt Cakes before, you need to find your nearest one and GO. They’re perfect. The cake is moist and light. The cream cheese icing is sweet and the perfect consistency, but I digress, this is supposed to be a somewhat healthy blog…(I’m a firm believer that you should enjoy life and foods you love in moderation. =)

Image

After picking up the cake, I headed to the gym for an early afternoon session. I DID start that app over and hit all the goals I was supposed to (running for 10 minutes, walk for 1 minute, repeat 3 more times) and instead of feeling discouraged like I have been, I actually felt good and look forward to doing it again on Thursday. I even got to watch a little Olympic hockey.

Image

Dinner and spoils were shared at Olive Garden. Normally I have 2 helpings of their “salad” and at least 4 breadsticks, along with the spaghetti dinner I normally choose. Today was a big win for me. I had one helping of salad, one breadstick, and ordered a pasta from their “under 575 calories” menu. It was all delicious and I felt full without feeling overloaded. It’s probably the first time that has happened at Olive Garden for me.

After dinner, dad opened his gifts and we enjoyed cake. My dad just started playing hockey again (he played from when he was 11 years old until about 45 because of work and us kiddos) so we got a custom jersey made for him as well as a new goalie mask. He was blown away. It’s awesome to get him stuff he wants because he never tells us and always ends up with clothes. I’m glad this year could be different.

Image

I also decided today I will NOT be running the Pulaski 10K in Chicago. I don’t want to be in the race if I’m not going to be actually running it. That sounds stupid to some, but it’s important to me. INSTEAD, I will be running the Fox Valley Park District’s Spring Gallop 5K at the end of March. By then, I should actually be close to hitting 10K again, then I will find another one I can do. After I hit 10K, I will then begin my half marathon training, which SHOULD take me about 3 months to complete. (Possibly by June.) I would actually like to do a local half before the Disney Princess Half, so I know what to expect and so I can be in a “better” corral. I know there is a lot of stop and go for Disney, but I’d like to still finish in a decent amount of time and not get stuck behind 3480293482309482 other people who are constantly stopping.

Leave a Reply

